Author Topic: Christian artists  (Read 2387 times)

Jelvyc

Christian artists
« on: March 31, 2018, 09:22:07 AM »
Are there any biblical guidelines for Christians with an artistic hand?
 I mean for example, a male Christian artist drawing a detailed picture of a woman. Should he avoid drawing the *ahem* underwear zones?

I ask because I'm a growing artist myself.

creationliberty

• Administrator
  • Pillar of the Community (Forum LVL MAX)
  • Edification: 448
    • View Profile
    • Creation Liberty Evangelism
  • First Name: Christopher
  • Belief: Christian
Re: Christian artists
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2018, 11:28:17 AM »
We've had a number of people come in and out of here who are artists. I can't give people personal conviction on what they should or should not draw, but the original 1611 version of the King James Bible had a nude drawing of eve in it, and that's one of the number of objections I have with 1611.

Most KJB preachers you will hear will say the 1611 was perfect, but I believe it was the 1769 finalization that was perfect. I believe the men who worked on the KJB were guided by God, but there was still some error in it; not in translation, but in things like printing press errors, and I would say there are offenses in the illustrations as well (among other things I won't list out here).

Now, when it was finalized, the men who worked on it probably did not have any thoughts to offense on that matter of illustrations because they never had a problem with the sin of lasciviousness, which is losing control of one's sexual desires. I have had a past of being guilty of that sin, and so for them to put such an illustration into the Bible is offensive to me personally, and as brethren, they should have been more understanding. That being said, there was no indication that the translators themselves put those illustrations in there.