Author Topic: The word persona  (Read 3595 times)

Richard

• BANNED
  • Newly Registered (Forum LVL 0)
  • Edification: -7
    • View Profile
  • First Name: Richard
  • Belief: Christian
The word persona
« on: September 05, 2019, 06:42:24 AM »
I retired from it several years ago but for about 5 years I was an active debator on religeous issues. I learned a lot more about the gospel during that time then I expected to initially. Eventually I got burned out on it.

Anyway, I had discussions with some pretty knowlegable Catholics on a few occaisions. What I found was that when they couldn`t prove their assertions with the Bible they would insist on quoting what they called the early church fathers and they wanted to give them the same authority as my King James. Since I couldn`t get anywhere with them I did a crash study on some of these writings which are early Catholic writings. I studied the oldest ones and found a suprising amount of things that i could use in debating modern Catholic doctrines.

One was this. I have issue with catholic trinity doctrine and the early church writers wrote in Latin. The Latin word for a person is Homo. However when these early Catholics wrote abouty God as a trinity they used the word persona instead of the word homo. The modern word person is derived from the Latin word persona and of course means something different then the original Latin.

A persona in Latin is the mask an actor would wear to play a part or a roll. When they talked about a trinity they were talking about a God with three personas that He has presented to the world.

creationliberty

• Administrator
  • Pillar of the Community (Forum LVL MAX)
  • Edification: 448
    • View Profile
    • Creation Liberty Evangelism
  • First Name: Christopher
Re: The word persona
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2019, 09:00:44 AM »