Author Topic: Intro post  (Read 2137 times)

Natwint

Intro post
« on: November 12, 2020, 10:28:25 PM »
Hello everyone,
My name is Nathan Winters, and I'm from the greater Des Moines, IA area. For those who know my wife, Megan, I'm the lesser half :) kidding...

Anyway, I've been observing how she has interacted with you all and the joy/sense of belonging it's brought to her life, and I've decided that now is the time to get myself involved as well, because I've been hoping to make meaningful connections with some more people.

My goal with this is to be as open and honest as I can be. I will preface my story with the fact that I do consider myself a believer in Jesus Christ our Lord and know that he is the way, the truth, and the life - the only way to eternal life is belief and faith in Him. That said, I am very new to the repentance teaching, and while I have a repentant heart for the way I've lived my life, especially over the last ten years or so, I am still growing my understanding, working on reading the entire bible in BSB before I go back and read other versions (and yes, I do intend on reading the KJV) to get more connected to the word and to our Lord.

All this to say, I'm a very new Christian. So, from the very beginning:

I grew up in a Lutheran church for my formative years, doing what I've heard called "Churchianity." I went to Sunday school, attended the services, got confirmed, went to a youth group, etc. I got nothing from it, and if I'm being honest, it drew me away from God. I was a teenager during the confirmation and youth group part, mostly going because my good childhood friend went, not for my own benefit. I didn't get any value out of that.

Fast forwarding a bit, I eventually quit going to the church and youth group and fell away from everything pertaining to church and God for many years, graduating high school and college, getting married, buying a house, working...and drinking.